Australian Poetry Slam

Melanie Mununggurr-Williams, 2018 Australian Poetry Slam Champion

Melanie Mununggurr-Williams, 2018 Australian Poetry Slam Champion

Australian Poetry Slam is an annual live literary performance program where the audience decides the champion. With a nationwide round of 60 heats, the best slammers will perform for the chance to win the Australian Poetry Slam National Final at Sydney Opera House as part of Story-Fest. The ultimate prize? An all expenses paid international tour, performing at Byron Writers FestivalUbud Writers and Readers Festival, Singapore Writers Festival, Hong Kong International Literary Festival, Banff Arts Centre and Blue Metropolis Festival.

Every year, APS presents over 1000 spoken word artists, bringing their words from all corners of the globe to an audience of over 20,000 within the Asia-Pacific region. As one of the largest initiatives of Word Travels, APS touches rural and urban communities in Australia, China, Indonesia and New Zealand, inspiring a love of poetry and catapulting spoken word artists onto an international stage.

Last year’s National Final took place on October 21st, crowning Melanie Mununggurr-Williams as the 2018 Australian Poetry Slam Champion and first ever Indigenous champion.

The 2019 heats will run from June until October culminating in the 2019 Australian Poetry Slam National Final. Heats will be announced soon on the APS website and Facebook page.